Michigan DNR's New Mandatory Deer Harvest Reporting

Posted by Joseph Pernicano | Nov 25, 2022 | 0 Comments

We have been receiving a lot of questions about the new Michigan Department of Natural Resources (“DNR”) mandatory deer harvest reporting. As of 2022, hunters are now required to report the successful harvest of deer in the state of Michigan to the DNR. Below are some common questions regarding the new requirements and penalties for failing to report a deer harvest.

What are you required to do?

You are now required to report the successful harvest through the DNR web page, or through the DNR mobile app that can be downloaded onto a mobile phone.

You have 72 hours from the time you recover the deer to report the successful harvest. If the deer is being transferred to a different person, the report must be made before the transfer occurs.

Once the report is successful made, you will be given a confirmation number that should be kept for their records.

Do you still need to attach your deer tag?

YES! After successfully harvesting a deer, licensed hunters are still required to attach their tag to the deer.

What if you do not have access to a computer or cell phone with internet connection?

You have up to three days to report a harvest. If you still do not have access to an internet connection, you would have to call a family member, or friend who does have internet access to report the harvest for them. The person making the report will need the tag license number, hunters date of birth, and exact location of the harvest.

If you do not have anyone that can make the report for you, you can call one of the DNR locations providing technical assistance to report the harvest over the phone.

What if you are having technical difficulties or are unable to report the harvest online?

There is a list of locations providing technical assistance on the DNR website. You can either call these locations or can go to the location during business hours to obtain assistance with reporting a deer harvest.

You can also have a family member, friend, or hunting buddy report the harvest online for them within 72 hours or before transferring the deer.

What if you fail to report a deer harvest?

A hunter who fails to report a deer harvest is subject to a misdemeanor punishable by up to 90 days in jail and a fine up to $500.00 under the Wildlife Conservation Order: 3.103.

What if you made a mistake when reporting the deer harvest?

If a mistake is made in the report, you should call the DNR licensing and customer service center.

Why is the DNR requiring hunters report successful deer harvests?

For decades, mail surveys have been randomly sent to a sampling of licensed hunters who would voluntarily complete and return them to the DNR. Over the last twenty years, the DNR reported an almost 40 percent drop in voluntary responses to the survey. This has diminished the value and ability of the DNR to monitor deer harvesting in the State.

Best of luck to anyone heading into the woods this fall. Contract Pernicano Law if you have any questions regarding the new DNR requirements or any DNR violations. 

About the Author

Joseph Pernicano

Helping people in their time of need is not just a job, but a passion. Representing clients in their time of need is Joe's passion. Whether that be after you were seriously injured, are facing criminal charges, or any issue you might have. Joe is dedicated to representing you and will fight for y...


There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.

Leave a Comment

Pernicano Law Is Here for You

Have you been injured, or are you facing criminal charges? I am here to listen to you and help you navigate the legal system.

Contact Me Today

24/7 free consultations. We are committed to answering your questions about personal injuries, criminal defense, or any legal matter. I'll gladly discuss your case with you at your convenience. Contact me today to schedule an appointment.